Home » MS Newb » The Crud Got Me, Slowly Recovering

The Crud Got Me, Slowly Recovering


I had last week off, the entire week of Thanksgiving off. Unfortunately, I woke up Monday morning to a sore throat. I went to the store and stocked up on chicken rice soup, orange juice, and my favorite: Throat Coat tea.

Needless to say, my efforts to prevent any more than a single morning sore throat were in vain. I missed Thanksgiving, but more importantly, the opportunity to see my brand new nephew who was born November 17.

I rested as much as I could and ended up calling in sick on Monday. It’s Thursday now, and I’m still waking up with the crud, but its severity has reduced.

This week at work has been challenging. Every year I take the last two weeks of December off. So after taking last week off, I have three weeks to get a lot done. And this week is just about over! Yikes! I’ve been drinking a lot of coffee, not resting as much or as well as I should, forgetting to take my Vitamin D, and experiencing headaches.

I even had a weak moment and consumed gluten when I was too tired to spend time on dinner and heated a can of chicken noodle soup. Argh!

The time I felt the best ever (during the summer) is becoming somewhat of a once in a lifetime dream vacation. I know it’s not and that it’s achievable once again. It just seems like a long way off. But I’ll get there. Perhaps slowly, but surely indeed.

Leave a Reply

