Home » Multiple Sclerosis » A Few Bad Days; A New Symptom

A Few Bad Days; A New Symptom


I missed a few days of work this week. The first day missed was due to fatigue and cramps as a result of my monthly cycle. Some months it passes unnoticed, other months it is all I can notice. I don’t know how the severity is determined month-to-month, but it certainly varies and seems to be unpredictable. Or there could be a pattern, like once a month per quarter, that I have yet to pick up on. It may be worth my while to look into that; added to list of things to do someday.

Anywho,* when my monthly cycle gives me a hard time, the hard part usually lasts 1-2 days and I’m back to my normal self soon after. But not this week. I’ve been experiencing brain fog big time, making it hard to concentrate and focus. I’m. So. Very. Tired. All. Of. The. Time. I discover myself reciting the lyrics to I’m So Tired by The Beatles, although I have slept a wink. I’ve also been slightly woozy; not dizzy, but not 100% woozy. Just, off. It can be hard to describe what these sensations feel like.

I took another day off and stayed home to rest. But the following day at work, I’m still not feeling well. Better, but not better.

The most concerning thing has been the development of a possible new symptom. I first noticed it about a week and a half prior to the start of my monthly cycle. It’s in the lower part of my left leg and, again, difficult to describe. It’s not numb, it’s not tingly, and I know it’s not foot drop, a symptom commonly associated with multiple sclerosis (MS). It could be the first signs of foot drop. God, I hope not. I would like to avoid difficulties with walking.

The silly thing is that it could have nothing to do with my MS and is actually caused by me sitting on my rump all day long most every day… Working! Oh, and vegging on the computer at night. Years ago I experienced what might have been sciatica in my left leg, to which the doctor attributed sitting for extended periods of time.

Or, I could be experiencing an MS mini-episode and the sciatica I experienced pre-diagnosis was MS-related.

Or, I’m an inactive aging person and this is perfectly normal for someone who is almost 41.

Le sigh.

Regardless the reason, I know what I’m not doing and I know what I need to do to improve my health and keep me on my feet. I need to lose a few pounds anyway, and get in shape so I can buy some new work clothes! Since my initial 20-pound loss, my wardrobe has been in limbo and it’s beginning to get a little sad… and worn out… because I wear the same things each week.

New shiny things can be a great short-term motivator; optimal health & proving it can be achieved without pharmaceuticals an even greater long-term motivator.

Sparkling Water

Shiny!

Becoming Well: The Importance of Vitamin D, Minerals, Your Gut and the Nutritional Interventions Necessary for Good Health

Tonight, I’m participating in the first part of a three-part webinar series with Dr. Terry Wahls and hosted by Leanne Ely of SavingDinner.com. All sessions begin at 8:00 p.m. ET and are outlined below.

  1. Today, September 20th, Session 1: The Incredible Importance of Vitamin D & Minerals. Your vitamin D levels are critical; which minerals you must have daily for optimal health. Inadequate mineral intake is associated with the top 10 causes of death and disability; 2/3 of Americans are deficient!
  2. Tuesday, October 30th, Session 2: Friend or Foe? Who or What is Living in YOUR Gut? Your gut is your second brain; how to heal a leaky gut, practical steps.
  3. Thursday, November 15th, Session 3: It’s Time for an Intervention! Your food is the basis of health or of chronic disease; nutritional interventions that may save your health!

Anyone can register. The information presented is for everyone and not exclusive for people with MS or other chronic conditions or diseases. Everyone needs to know this stuff! If you are interested in attending, you can do so via http://savingdinner.com/wahlswebinar/.

* I just figured out where “anywho” came from! It’s anyhow mistyped. And, being Ms. Newb, I am probably the only one that did not know this.

Leave a Reply

